Types of Trusts

AMG National Trust Bank can administer many types of trusts. Our advisors can work with your estate planning attorney to help you evaluate the benefits of each type of trust and identify ones that best meet your needs. Trust types include:

Charitable Remainder Trust (CRT)
An irrevocable trust that pays a predetermined percentage of trust income to a non-charitable beneficiary during that beneficiary’s lifetime. After the death of the beneficiary or beneficiaries, the charitable beneficiary receives the remaining assets of the trust.

Charitable Lead Trust (CLT)
A trust that pays its income to a charity for a specific period of time, after which the trust’s remaining assets are given to its founder’s family or another non-charitable beneficiary.

Dynasty Trust
An irrevocable trust designed to hold assets in trust without direct ownership being transferred to any beneficiary. Instead, successive generations may receive distributions from trust assets or assets that remain held in trust, allowing for future benefit and growth. For transfer tax purposes, the trust's assets are valued at the amount they were worth when the trust was created as long as they stay in the trust. Any appreciation generally is exempt from estate taxes. The trust may last for as long as state law allows. Dynasty trusts are also called long-term trusts.

Family or Credit-Shelter Trust
Designed for married couples, this trust maximizes the use of each spouse's estate-tax exemption. The trust is funded upon the death of the first spouse to provide for the surviving spouse, or other beneficiaries. At the death of the surviving spouse, remaining assets pass to named beneficiaries, usually children.

Generation-Skipping Trust
A trust in which the contributed assets are passed down to the grantor's grandchildren, not the grantor's children. The generation to which the grantor's children belong skips the opportunity to receive the assets in order to avoid the estate taxes that would apply if the assets were transferred to them.

Grantor Retained Annuity Trust (GRAT)
This trust allows the grantor to transfer a remainder interest in trust assets to beneficiaries on a tax-favored basis. Should the assets appreciate and exceed the amount the grantor specifies, the excess is paid back to the grantor.

Irrevocable Life Insurance Trust (ILIT)
A trust that owns a life-insurance policy, pays insurance premiums and collects the death-benefit payment upon the insured person’s death. Assets, including the death benefit, are excluded from the deceased’s taxable estate.

Marital Trust
This trust allows one spouse to transfer an unlimited amount of property for the benefit of the other spouse without incurring gift or estate taxes at the first spouse’s death.

Special Needs Trust (Supplemental Needs Trust & Disability Trust)
Trusts established to provide resources for the special needs of a disabled person while maintaining his or her access to governmental benefits.

Qualified Personal Residence Trust
A trust that involves the transfer of a personal residence to one of more beneficiaries while the grantor retains an ownership interest or the ability to live in the home.

Qualified Terminable Interest Property Trust (QTIP)
A marital trust that allows, at the death of the surviving spouse, remaining trust property to pass to beneficiaries selected by the grantor.

Revocable Trust
A living trust that can be terminated (revoked) or amended (changed) by the grantor. Usually set up by a person during his or her lifetime for his or her own benefit or the benefit of someone else.

Investment products: Not FDIC insured • No bank guarantee • May lose value